top of page
  • Skribentens bildA Home In Pages

Verity - Colleen Hoover

Heello dear readers! As usual it has been a hot minute and when will I get my shit and start to post on a regular basis again? Nobody knows? Nobody? Okay.

Let's just enjoy this review of one of the most fucked up books I have read in while.


Also....


SPOILERS

Verity



Author: Colleen Hoover

Genre: Romantic thriller

Times read: First time

Year of first publication: 2018

Rating: 4/5 stars


Plot: On the verge of totally brokeness struggling author Lowen takes the job of finishing a highly successful book series. The reason being that the original author, Verity Crawford, have been in a car accident and is in a state one nearly can't even call alive. But Lowen finds a manuscript of Verity's life, and it is not a pretty sight. So what happens when the daughters of the Crawford family died? And what will happen when Lowen starts to fall for Verity's oh so very nice husband Jeremy?


Faves


Characters: I related so hard to the struggling writer in Lowen and Jeremy was indeed pretty lovely from time to time.

Settings: A creepy house is always a yes from me.

Quotes:


"I was good at spewing bullshit. It's why I became a writer"
"I was difficult. An emotionally challenging puzzle he wasn’t up for solving. Which was fine. I wasn’t in the mood to be solved"
"I stretch truths where I see fit. I’m a writer"

My bookish thoughts: First of all, as one can se from the quotes I choose, this is a quote machine. It as so many fucked up, but amazing quotes. Like the truth nobody dare to say out loud, that was what it felt like.


I related so much to the struggle Lowen have with writing, the way she sidetracks, the way she just sit and looks out from the window in Verity's office. And I did also appreciate that she did stand on her own two feet and Jeremy was a bonus and not the whole game.


As much as I liked so much about the book, there also was stuff I didn't. Like the part with the cheating. I hate cheating in real life and I have a hard time even reading about it. I kinda wish Jeremy was more clear about that he and Verity was over and done with. I think that would have made it better to read.


All in all, it was fucked up and amazing. And that ending did the whole thing basically.



 

Stay safe and read happily! // A Home In Pages

 


24 visningar0 kommentarer

Senaste inlägg

Visa alla
bottom of page