top of page
  • Skribentens bildA Home In Pages

Capturing The Devil by Kerri Maniscalco

Hello dear readers!

This is a very special review for me because it is the conclusion of one of my all-time favourite book series. I have loved this series since I read Stalking Jack The Ripper a few years back. And here are the ending to that...I will talk more about those feeling later on, so let's get going with the review. Oh, and I can not stress this enough....

SPOILERS SPOILERS.... seriously....SPOILERS


Author: Kerri Maniscalco

Genre: Murder mystery

Year of first publication: 2019 Times read: First time reding Star rating: 5/5 stars


Plot: (Taken from goodreads, Stalking Jack The Ripper)


Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord's daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father's wishes and society's expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle's laboratory to study the gruesome practise of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.


Faves


Characters: Audrey Rose is forever one of my favourite characters, male and female. She is so cool, so calm and collected when she needs to be and I feel sorry for the man who thinks she can't do something because she is a woman. He will have another thing coming... Thomas Cresswell is such a fleshed out character. He is a feminist in the year of 1889 and I think that is so important. This man stands up for the woman he loves, no matter who is there to witness it. The love he has for his Rose is amazing. Lisa, because she could kill with one stare and tea. Setting: The murder castle! I have always been fascinated with the case if H.H Holmes and how the darn he didn't get caught. He isn't discrete in what he does.

Quotes:

"The world needed to be better. And if it wasn’t possible for it to be better, we, its inhabitants, needed to do better"

My thoughts about the book: Wow, holy cow, I don't even know how to put down all my feelings. It is so much in this series that I love. Everything from the characters, to the way Kerri writes. She has a way to really make me feel the words. Like I was there with Cresswell and Wadsworth and I cannot believe this is the last book in the series. I wish all the characters I have gotten to know so well, all the best. It was an honour to get to know you, Audrey Rose.



 

Stay safe and read happily! // A Home In Pages

 

7 visningar0 kommentarer

Senaste inlägg

Visa alla
bottom of page