top of page
  • Skribentens bildA Home In Pages

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Hello dear readers!

As I said a few days ago, I would try to get up a review up for Nevernight and here it is...Even though I don't really know how to put down all my thought into words, I am a book blogger after all, so I will do my very best!

And I cannot stress this enough....

SPOILERS SPOILERS




Author: Jay Kristoff

Genre: Adult fantasy

Year of first publication: 2016

Times read: First time

Star rating: 5/5 stars



Plot: (Taken from Goodreads)

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.


Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.


Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.


Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge?



FAVE


Characters: Mia might be my fave character ever EVER!

Setting: One of my fave tropes are the school setting, so I was very happy with this.

Quotes: (Wow so many)


"Too many books. Too few centuries"
"Iron or glass? they'd ask. She was neither. She was steel"
"You'll be a rumor. A whisper. The thought that wakes the bastards of this world sweating in the Nevernight. The last thing you will ever be, girl, is someone's hero"
"A girl who was to murder as maestros are to music"

My thoughts about the book:

I tried reading this twice before I got through it. And yes, I know that sounds weird since the high rating, but, I had heard it gets as good as they say it is after the first hundred pages or so. So I put on the audiobook and DARN it did get good. No, good does not even begin to cover it, it got great, amazing, fantastic, awe-inspiring. And the quotes? Darn again. So many good once. Jay Kristoff is a genius.


I loved that we had this badass bitch MC and she is my new favourite of all time and I cannot wait to read the sequel!



 

Stay safe and read happily! // A Home In Pages

 

5 visningar0 kommentarer

Senaste inlägg

Visa alla
bottom of page