top of page
  • Skribentens bildA Home In Pages

The Family Upstairs - Lisa Jewell

I seem to have gone in to a somewhat bubble of thrillers and it also seems that I have made it a habit of listen until far after I should be asleep. But when I am finally finished with that book, I can't sleep. Of course. But, here is another review if one of those. This one a really freaky one.


SPOILERS

Again, a cheeky little filter

Author: Lisa Jewell

Genre: Thriller

Year of first publication: 2019

Star rating: 5/5 stars


Plot: On her twenty fifth birthday Libby gets an envelope. Her biological parents have left her a big mansion in Londons finest area. It looks amazing on paper, but the illusion breaks a bit when she find out that she was the only one found alive in that house when she was ten month old. Her parents and one unknown man was found dead in their kitchen and the other children who lived there was missing. So what happend that night? What led up to it? And if she is not Libby, the who is she?


FAVE


Characters: I think Henry, because you see the way he slowly change and becomes insane. Also, I like Libby and of course I love the badass best friend. Surprise and so on haha.

Setting: The creepy house!

Quote: This will sound weird because of my high rating, but there wasn't so much quotes as it was all around creepyness.


My thoughts about the book: I loved the mystery, it kept me on my toes the whole way through. I had to put it down and just breath a few times and that is one of my favourite parts in a good book. The plottwist that hits you in the gut and makes it hard to breath. Isn't nice when the hard to breathness isn't because of a panic attack haha.

Anyhow, I loved Lisa's writing style and the way she really put her readers inside her characters heads.

It was creepy, scary as shit and amazing.



 

Stay safe and read happily // A Home In Pages

 

2 visningar0 kommentarer

Senaste inlägg

Visa alla
bottom of page