top of page
  • Skribentens bildA Home In Pages

Roomies

Are the reviews getting boring yet? I find it funny that I used to think it was a drag to write, when now I feel like I actually get to break down my thoughts about the book. Well, we all change. And I feel like this is more fun to read then tags maybe?

I don't know, but anyhow, here are the review for Roomies. Because apparently I am on a Christina Lauren kick right now...

And as always....SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS


SPOILERS

Roomies


Author/Authors: Christina Lauren

Rating: 5/5 Stars Genre: Contemporary

Times read: Read for the first time


Plot: Holland has had a crush on the mystery musician named Calvin, who plays down at the tunnelstation. So when her uncle is in dire need of a new musician in his show, she ask Calvin. The problem? Calvin does not have a visa and is staying in the country illegally. But hey, it's nothing a fake marriage can't fix...right?


Favorites


Characters: I gotta say that I really really liked our main character this time. She was witty and stood up for herself. And even tough I liked Calvin as well, I had some issued with him.

Setting: I think I enjoyed her apartment the most. Is that weird? I feel like that's weird.

Quote:


"I catch a flash of bare ass and find religion"


My thoughts about the book: First of all I am very surprised about how many times I laughed out loud when reading this. I don't think I ever really done that with a contemporary before. I have really come to love that the MC has such a loving family, which is the case in most of the contemporarys I have read. The "When-troubles-comes-the-family-does-too" trope.

What I don't like is that Calvin sometimes feels so understanding of feelings and the way actions impact those feelings, and then sometimes it just flys riiiight over his head. Like did he think Holland would just be like: Yep, I will answer to another name, no bigge! That feelt a bit forced, like the drama needed to be there for the story to take the next step, I understand that. It just bothered me, that's all.

But over all, I really like it - not like my rating gave anything away haha - and I thoroughly enjoy the way these two ladies write.



 

Read happily and stay safe! // A Home In Pages

 

0 visningar0 kommentarer

Senaste inlägg

Visa alla
bottom of page